The Way of Kings
The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this, even after I realized there was no way I was going to finish this in one day. At least not in one day that I couldn’t devote solely to reading.

In my mind this is what Epic Fantasy should be about. Saving the world, sure but making sure that world is fascinating, believable and above all else – fantastic. Characters are great, cultures are unique, world is unique, magic is unique – there’s not a fairy or an elf in sight for once. Battle are actually interesting to read rather than something to be skimmed over. And your questions are answered slowly throughout the book until by the end you feel like you kind of understand what’s behind everyone’s actions and just maybe what’s going on.

On to book two…also over 1,000 pages. Sigh.

View all my reviews

