Aubrey Drifter

Skye is perhaps the most wonderful child in the world. So bright and charming and imaginative.

Every day feels new and different seen thought Skye’s eyes because everyday is new and different. Before my life was focused on this house and on my painting. Which was really also to make money for my house. I didn’t do much else. Lorna is my only close friend and there’s no need to go anywhere – especially not for dinner if she’s cooking. Yum. But Skye keeps us busy and I never know what the day will bring beyond Joy.

Not every day starts joyfully of course. With a toddler, how could it. There are ups and downs, good days and bad. Days that start with glares and a pout.

Although usually a nice snack, a dance, and a few spins will do the trick. I take full advantage of Skye’s lack of long-term memory. Distract enough and the dirty diaper, stolen toy, or refused request is all forgotten. And a smile and a giggle goes a long way in this house.

Skye loves telling stories. To anyone and everyone who will listen. I wonder if we have a little author in the making? Eli and Blaze are the main receipents of various flights of fancy. It’s so cute to see Skye and Eli together. They’re so much like siblings. I’m glad we have Lorna and her family with us. This place would be so empty without them.

Skye’s stories don’t always make sense of course. For example, the stories about the see-through man. But it’s good to encourage creativity. And sometimes I wonder if there isn’t some truth behind the stories.

I knew being a mother would change me, but I had no idea how much my heart would melt to find Skye tucked away on the edge of the couch tuckered out from a full day of dancing and spinning and telling stories.

I’m going to try no to cry when it’s finally time for Skye’s birthday.


Lorna Jang

Little Boys – From A Book of Poems by Silly Sally

Little boys come in all shapes and sizes,

Shy and adventurous, full of surprises,

With misshapen halos and mischievous grins,

Small dirty faces, and sweet, sticky chins.

They’ll keep you so busy, and yet all the while

Nothing can brighten the world like their smile.

And no greater treasure has brought homes more joy

Than a curious, active, and lovable boy!


Previous | Next


Author’s Note: Little Boys poem was found on the internet but was unattributed so I’m not sure exactly who wrote it. If you’re keeping track you’ll notice Lorna has three little boys. Blaze, blue-haired eldest. Eli who was born at the same time as Skye, and now little smiling Jasper. Lorna has been so busy with the kiddos that she hasn’t been very chatty to me. But you can figure she’s exhausted but happy.

