Arturo stands looking surprised, orange swirls dot his face and arms.

Huffman Legacy 1.7 – It’s My Party

Arturo felt awful. His head was pounding and his mouth dry. He woke briefly when Chana woke. She left the room quietly and he laid back and fell back asleep.

When he woke again, he was slightly better. Although walking outside was the extent of his energy. He collapsed in the chair. But the sun felt good. He stared at the swirls on his hands. That wasn’t a good sign. He hoped he wouldn’t have to go to the hospital.Arturo stands looking surprised, orange swirls dot his face and arms.

Chana was humming as she tended her garden. He watched her weed and water. She hadn’t noticed him yet. When she did she smiled and came over.

“Hungry?”

“Not really.”

“Have some yogurt at least” she urged. She sat down next to him and dug into her own breakfast of fish.

Chana digs into a delicious looking hunk of fish flesh.

Arturo picked at the yogurt. Really, he just wasn’t hungry. He forced himself to eat a bite. “How’s the garden coming?”

“Well, well. The blackberries have never looked so good. They seemed to like the fish fertilizer.”

“No more. I’d rather not know.”

Chana laughed. Then she looked at him, her eyes serious. “I called Bella last night. I was worried. Why didn’t you say you weren’t feeling well? What possessed you to go to work?”

“What did she say? Do I have to go to the hospital?”

“She say’s it’s probably 24 hour llama flu. Apparently it was going around the club Ashley had it last week, remember. Bella said if you rest today and the swirls leave you should be fine by the weekend.”

“That’s good. What about you? Will you get sick?”

“I’ll be careful. Bella said not to worry about her either, she’s immunized.”

“Oh, I didn’t think of that. I’m glad she’s okay.”

Chana sighed. “Take it easy, today. And if you feel worse, tell me.”

Arturo dozes in the lawn chair. Still covered in spots.Chana’s advice proved easy to follow as already Arturo was feeling tired. He dozed outside as Chana headed into town to sell the blackberries and pears she’d gathered. By that evening he was already feeling better although he still called work and told them he was sick and wouldn’t be coming. He hated loosing that money, but Chana had convinced him. Better take it easy and he was sure to get better faster. He didn’t want to worry her any more than he had.


***


Chana called Bella.

“How is he?” She asked.

“Much better, I think. He took the day off and slept most of the day.”

“And the swirls?”

“Gone. How about you? Any good news for us?”

“Stephanie and Kristie.”

“Ooh, congratulations! How are you feeling?”

“Like I’m not carrying around two beach balls anymore.” Bella laughed.

“I can’t wait to meet them.”

“Well you’ll see them this weekend.”

“Thank you again. You don’t know how much I appreciate it.”

“I can imagine. Don’t worry, I’ve got all the ingredients you’ll need. Just bring Arturo and we’ll have everything else ready.”


***


Saturday came all too soon for Arturo, and couldn’t come faster for Chana. Arturo knew Chana was up to something, but he didn’t pry after she made it clear that it was important to her for him not to know. They took the ferry into town.

“Oh, we’re going to Bella’s!” Arturo recognized the path they took. Chana smiled.
“Since we’re in town anyway, I thought we’d see the girls first.”
Arturo took her hand and squeezed it. “Thanks,” He’d been trying to figure out when it would be appropriate to visit. How many days did you give someone to recover after birth?
Chana just smiled as they knocked on the door. She pushed him through first when they heard the invitation.

Arturo celebrates his birthday - Airen and Hayden are throwing confetti and singing. Sparkles surround Arturo and Chana stands nearby.
“HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!” Arturo blinked. Bella’s living room was filled with people, from work and the club. So this was the surprise, he hadn’t realized Chana knew when his birthday was.
“Silly,” Chana gave him a quick kiss and disappeared into the kitchen after Bella. Arturo took the drink given him and found himself the recipient of multiple congratulations.

Arturo and Arien (a full bearded friend of Arturos) are chatting in the kitchen. Arturo holds a drink. They are laughing about something.

Bella and Arturo exchange hug - Emeliano stands behind them And Arian - who we have seen in shoots but not met yet, sits on the couch.

Between the festivities, Chana and Arturo did find time to sneak upstairs and meet the new babies.

Arturo is in the nursery. He's holding one of two baby girls, the other lays in her crib behind him.

Arturo blew out his candles without a fuss and spun up to adult.

Arturo is blowing out his candles.

“You’ll have to tell me when your birthday is now.”
“Oh?” Chana grinned. “Do I?” She teased.
“Of course. It’s only fair.”
“It’s next week.”

“Did you like your birthday party?”
“Yes,” They were walking back to the ferry. The moon hung large in the sky. “I’m not really ready to go home though,” he said. “Want to grab a drink.”
“Sure.”

Chana and Arturo enter the bar. They are still wearing their party clothes.

The Old Bar was open late and it was still early. Arturo and Chana grabbed drinks.

Sitting at the bar, Arturo orders them both drinks.
“Thank you for the surprise.” Arturo said with a grin as they saluted.
“I’m glad it all worked out.” Chana agreed.

They played a game of fuzzball. Chana won.

Arturo appraoches the fuzzball table, drink in hand, and a confident grin.

Chana drops the ball onto the table.

They are both playing fuzzball.

And danced.
“I am so lucky to have you, Chana,” Arturo leaned in close to whisper in her ear.
“The feeling is mutual, you know.” She grinned back.

Arturo kisses Chana by the jute box.

They tried out the closet that night.

Arturo gestures Chana into the closet.

Yup - she followed him in. Arturo has his hands holding Chana's shoulder as they kiss and enter the closet.

They are both inside the closet. Kissing. We are terrible voyeurs watching from the top shelf.

“Happy Birthday, Artruo.”

They embrace a final time at home.


Previous | Next


 

 

18 comments

  1. Surprise parties are so fun! I have fond memories of flying out to California to help my BFF’s son pull off an epic surprise party for my BFF. ^_^ I kept him busy all day playing the perfect tourist, got all the timing perfect, then lured him to lunch at a restaurant in Santa Cruz where his son and friends were all lying in wait. He was so shocked and then turned to me, “Did you know they were doing this?” I just laughed and his son was like, “Oh, she’s been in on the whole thing from the start, we’ve been planning this over e-mail long before her plane landed!” Feels so great when you pull it off without a hitch. ^_^

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’ve only done one surprise party – they’re not easy!!! Last year my dad turned 60 and I bought tickets to fly my sister and me out. Mom helped us with the whole thing including having a party there – that we “crashed” – his face was priceless!!!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Arturo really is a champ he strikes me like the kind of guy that would hate surprise anything being he is so shy. And Yes, hopefully they can have babies soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I never quite read him as shy, but I I can see how he might seem that way, he is very insecure about his situation and he is a private person, keeping much to himself.

      Soon, the babies will come, soon!

      Like

  3. Hey there!! I started reading this a few weeks ago but lost it somehow!!

    I saw its on the reading list for the forums book club and jogged over here to continue reading!!

    I’ve got it favorited now to keep up!!

    Liked by 1 person

Your two cents,