7.3 Interviewing Darin

[Starting transmission 7.3.06 from piggglewiggle.legacy.save. Receiving images 7 of 7. Voices automagically transcribed.]

So Dad2, how are you feeling?

Better now that Mina is born, that was … uncomfortable. I’m not entirely sure how the aliens did it.

Darin holds his purple alien-child in the hospital.
Hello, I think we’ll call you Mina.

 

Oh – I have a theory. I think they inserted a subdermal womb pocket next to the lining of your stomach. Then they —

–T-That’s okay. I don’t need to know. Just glad it’s over.

So you were afraid they’d impregnate you again when you came back from the hospital? I saw you were abducted again.

Darin is illuminated by another beam of alien light immediately upon returning from the hospital.
Not again!

 

Not really, they said it was a post-natal check. Just wanted to make sure Mina came out okay since alien births are still fairly rare. But the hospital here had seen this kind of thing before so they … mostly knew what they were doing. Meteor was freaking out though.

Meteor freaks out at the hospital. Pre-parental panic time.
You’re pregnant?! A child?! At our age?!

 

Yeah – he didn’t freak out when we were born did he?

Well, I think he knew Sonja would be fine, she had the right parts. I don’t.

So, tell us why you decided to take the youth potion?

Darin explains to Michel why he took the youth potion.
My life’s been good and all, but Mina’s just so young.

 

It was close call. My life bar had just started sparkling, but it was Mina’s child birthday. I didn’t want to leave Mina before she had a chance to really know me. Plus I have everything I need for my final promotion at work. I’m due back on Tuesday and our family hasn’t topped the journalist career before. It seemed the right thing to do.

Darin rocks his baby child - he's wearing his work suit from level 9 journalism.
Happy Birthday, Mina!

 

Will you encourage Dad to take one too? He’s older than you now.

He’ll have to make his own decision. Like I did. I’ve done a lot of soul searching in the past few days, out by Sonja and Galaxy.

Darin examines Galaxy and Sonja's graves (again!)
“You won’t begrudge us this time, Galaxy? Even though you didn’t get to live as long?”

[End transmission 7.3.06.]

Previous | Next: Checking off Aspirations

One comment

Your two cents,